• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

My first pepper plants

This is my first attempt at growing peppers. I hope all goes well.

Bhut jolokia plant

yellow scotch bonnet

red savina habanero

and my ones I havents moved to larger pots yet. They include more bhut jolokia, red savina, scotch bonnets, and texas chiletepin

Looking good so far. I am just getting back into growing peppers and so far they don't look to great. Hopefully they will turn around soon.

Like Iggy said...good start...and welcome from Fort Worth

I have noticed a strange occurance with my plants I up potted to a 5 gal as opposed to ones i transferred to 1 gal pots. The ones moved to the one gallon pots have doubled in size while the ones in five gallon buckets have put on 2 new sets of leaves. Has anyone else noticed similar occurances?

rds040800 said:
I have noticed a strange occurance with my plants I up potted to a 5 gal as opposed to ones i transferred to 1 gal pots. The ones moved to the one gallon pots have doubled in size while the ones in five gallon buckets have put on 2 new sets of leaves. Has anyone else noticed similar occurances?

I believe Pepper Ridge Farm and Alabama Jack are looking into this right now. Hopefully they will swing by and comment.

I'm considering moving them to a smaller pot and working up to the 5 gal pots. The only ones that have done well in the 5 gal pots are the jalapenos, but they were in 3 gal pots.

rds040800 said:

That's because once the roots reach the edge of their containers the shift really focuses to foliar growth.

The one gal pots are green or brown while the 5 gal ones were free food grade white buckets from where i work. Would that make a difference?

rds040800 said:
The one gal pots are green or brown while the 5 gal ones were free food grade white buckets from where i work. Would that make a difference?