• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in Startup Help.

Neutral Base

Hellooo,

I am new to these forums and I am having fun reading about everybody's pepper gardens and recipes. This is my first year with uncommon
hot peppers and I kind of went bonkers with around 10 varieties of peppers that I have not even tried before. I have always loved spicy food
and I hope to be able to take that to another level with my own sauces and marinades.

I am wondering what I can use as a good base for a sauce to use as a taste tester. Of course I will be tasting the raw peppers, but,
especially for the really hot ones, it can be hard to get the flavor of the pepper through the heat. I may use a tortilla chip or slice of cucumber
as the medium, thoughts on that would be appreciated too.

I want a standard base recipe to use that I can throw each variety of pepper into to try as I first harvest them. Preferably things that will
accent the peppers are not overpower them, garlic and salt immediately come to mind. Something simple, keep in mind I basically just want
to dumb-down the heat of the pepper without taking away from the flavor. Something that will not clash with any (if this is possible) variety.

Help me, Pepper Pro's!

Thanks
-Phil

Tomatoes, carrots, and garlic is a pretty standard and common hot sauce base. You can throw onions in there too if you like. Carrots are pretty good in fruity flavored hot sauces too, e.g. carrots + mangoes, pineapples, pears, grapefruit, etc.

If you do not want to impart much flavor you can make a pepper puree with vinegar and peppers.

For the vehicle try UNSALTED tortilla chips, or just a spoon :)