• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

New to growing (anything)...what do i do now?

Firstly hello,

Im new to growing chillis and anything at all really, I've germinated a few seeds and I've started to see some results which is good. I've just placed the propagator in my airing cupboard ontop of my boiler and now I'm bringing the trays out to a south facing window each day in the morning.

What I'm stuck on now is what to do next. I understand that i should not be re-potting untill the seedlings have show their second set of true leaves but what do i do with the plugs that have grown multiple seedlings? ie i planted 2 or 3 seeds and they have germinated. do i let them all grow or do i cull one and leave the remaining one to grow? or do i seperate when i re-pot?

Ive grown some herbs as well and in hindsighti have planted too many seeds in each plug/container. my basil for example has far too many seedlings.

any help and advice would help. i still have some seeds left and i planned to plant a few more in a second batch anyway so i think i will only plant 1 seed in each one next time.

Help and advice appreciated.

Capsicum Baranco with two seedlings...what do I do with these two???
DSC02148.jpg

Capsicum Twilight
DSC02151.jpg

Capsicum Baranco & Worldbeater peppers
DSC02149.jpg

Basil (too many seedlings?) or is this ok?
DSC02147.jpg

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the site.

Looking good so far. You may want to thin the basil now before the roots intertwine with each other. For now, just keep them all happy and then one they get bigger transplant them into bigger pots. Just be careful not to over water them and remember to keep the lights on them. if you're using Floro light make sure they are about an inch from the plants.

Here's a good guide: http://www.peppermania.com/grow_how.html

when you say "thin the basil now" what do you mean?