• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Newbie here saying hello and with a question....

Hello everyone. I just joined up a few days ago and have tried to read some info before asking any questions. I want to get started as soon as possible so I was wondering if someone could throw some advice my way. I'm getting started late so are there any peppers that would be better to try to start now than others? Are there some I may have problems with because of my late start?

I appreciate your help in advance and I wouldn't usually ask any questions until further reading but I wanna get started asap.

Your best bet would be to buy plants instead of seeds. Walmart, Lowes, Home Depot still have pepper plants, but they will probably be limited. You can also order from http://www.chileplants.com/. Most hot peppers take 90+ days to produce fruit, so I think doing seeds would put you at the end of your grow season. I planted my first seeds on 4/25/10 and none are ready to be put outside. All are about an inch or two tall. Pepper plants appear to be slow growing, so in my opinion, starting seeds now may not be the best thing to do. I do have a jalapeno, hababero & tabasco plant that I bought around the end of April or beginning of june. They are about a foot tall so I am hoping those plants as well as the seeds I planted produce some fruit before it starts getting cold. The weather in my area does not get cold until Oct, so I have a fairly long grow season. Not sure what it's like in Kentuky.

This is my first year growing peppers, so my knowledge is limited. There will be more experienced chileheads who will respond.

yeah, basically you'll have to buy plants; it's too late this season to start from seed. What you want is plants that are:
- quick to mature (so you get something to eat not in 90 or 100 days, but in more like 55 or 60)
- easy and un-fussy