No-Salt Mash

The Hot Pepper

Founder
Admin
I've hard of no-salt mashes but there is very limited info.

I wonder if the secret to no-salt fermentation is doing it in the refrigerator. Will it ferment chilled? You could do a lacto-fermentation with kefir starter or other starter but if you leave out salt you still risk botulism. If it ferments refrigerated, you could make the mash in the fridge, and then process it (can it) when it's done.

Thoughts?

I've used different starters and I don't think there would be botulism risk as long as the fermentation produces enough acidity.

So pretty much you can do it safely w/o salt or vinegar, just peppers and a starter?

I'm no expert, anything I've fermented so far I've used salt and starters, but what about wine? Is salt used in it?
Right now I'm in the midst of learning to make Kimchi as well as fermented sausage and I plan to use salt and a starter

Pippy, mash is a base for hot sauce. When you see "Aged Peppers" as an ingredient, it's mash (fermented)... aged, like wine. Tabasco sauce is made from mash. Salt on tabasco peppers, fermentation, then the vinegar is added. Bam, sauce. Get it?

From what I have read on making mash, I think the reason for the salt is to extract the moisture out of the peppers, which creates a liquid that covers the peppers and creates a barrier to keep out the bad bacteria until the lacto-bacteria gets going and lowers the Ph to a safe level. Correct?

I have read of using the kefir grains and sourdough hooch to get the process started quickly, like in 2 days or so. If you boil the peppers for a couple of minutes to kill off the bad bacteria that is already on the peppers then use the starter to get the good bacteria going, then you should get the Ph down quick enough to keep the bad bacteria out.