• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

chinense Not bhut jolokia

I just found out that my bhut jolokia plant is not the realthing ..... It turned out to be numex big jim. I should have guess it by the small leaves, but since its my first year growing super hottes I had to wait for the pods to actualy get to full size. I couldnt wait any longer for the biggest pod to ripen so I took one and bit on it kinda hopeing it would still be hot........ Funny I had a galon of milk next to me befor I did , but to my surprise no heat at all ...... WTF ! But oh well thats how you learn.

What color was the pod when ripe? That's weird that it wouldn't have any heat at all, since Big Jims usually have a moderately low, but still there heat, usually around the same level as the Anaheim. I suppose that there are always anomalies in the low heat peppers.

It was still green , but yeah I was expecting at least some heat , darrnet can you picture me ....first time trying a super hot well what I tought was a super hot , I had it all milk, ice cream , yogert ! My dad couldnt stop making fun of me.

They came from me =/

Are you absolutely sure you planted seeds from the Bhut you got? They were grown next to a row containing NuMex Sunrise/Sunset/Twilight and Big Jim's so it's possible you just got a hybrid.....bad luck on that, sorry.

Here is yours
d120f366.jpg

And my plants/Pods from last year. They are CPI Bhuts too.
87e10730.jpg

3577ef6e.jpg

The leaves on your plant show no sign of any Bhut feature to me. My seeds are growing true so far for me. Here's a Bhut baby from seeds from last years pods (dont mind the cat chewed leaves......bastards!)

af819ab5.jpg

If your brother visits before I FINALLY get mine planted out I'll send you a plant or two.

Also be patient and let the pods ripen no matter if hot ones or not. The green pods just aren't near the same.