• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

NPK Any Good??

Hi,

I'm totally new to growing peppers, all gardening in fact. I live in Thailand and finding good potting soil is proving difficult. I have found a product called Superpeat (the only English on the packet). After some research I've discovered that its White Peat from Denmark, it's PH is 6 and it has a NPK of 11, 16, 22. My plan is to mix this with perlite. I was just wondering if anyone had used this product and/or what people think about the NPK levels for peppers.

Any info/advice will be gladly received.

Many thanks, Ezzer.

it should be ok .. for hot peppers preferably a balance fert is needed but the mix looks ok. try it and do inform us of your experience with this soil mix.

Try to use fertilizer with lower NPK ratios or use it very diluted. Chiles are relatively unengineered plants and can't use a lot of fertilizer.

Any other opinions?? I'm a total novice at gardening, I could do with some help, please.

Thanks Ezzer.

Try to use fertilizer with lower NPK ratios or use it very diluted. Chiles are relatively unengineered plants and can't use a lot of fertilizer.
Sorry, it's not a fertilizer it's a potting mix, Sphagnum peat moss with a Ph balanced to 6 and a NPK of 11-16-22, I was thinking a 7 to 3 ratio Superpeat and Perlite.

Thoughts please.

you can plant peppers in the ground or in pots

there is something called hydroponics that uses inert media also

what peppers are you growing?

sometimes pictures help

Sorry, it's not a fertilizer it's a potting mix, Sphagnum peat moss with a Ph balanced to 6 and a NPK of 11-16-22, I was thinking a 7 to 3 ratio Superpeat and Perlite.

Thoughts please.

The perlite will help, but I think that may still retain a little too much water.
The NPK seems too high for a mix, is that the NPK of an additiOnal fert they have added?