• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Orchids ?

What kind of orchids are you looking for? If you check out my GLOG you can see the orchids I grow. I would be happy to trade or cut you a deal if you were looking for Paphs. :)

Yeah, type makes a huge difference. I can actually get some pretty nice varieties just at my grocery store these days, which is very surprising, even though the one I go to is on the edge of a foo-foo neighborhood. For others, I go to a couple different local nurseries.

That said, I have none now - we got a weird fungus in this area a couple years ago, and it wiped out tons of plants, including our orchids, and I just haven't gotten back into them at this point.

Thank you for the replies. I am just getting started so I have no idea what types I will be growing. In reading this evening it looks like I have a ton to learn. Are any of the types easier for the beginner ?

- Mega

Phaleanopsis orchids come in a variety of colors and are pretty easy to find. They're probably easy to find because they're pretty easy to grow, so I would suggest starting out with one of those. The thing to keep in mind with orchids is that they are very much like peppers - they don't like to be wet. Don't grow them in standard soil - there are a handful of growing mediums out there specifically for orchids, so definitely get one of those. You may need to experiment a bit to find which medium is best for you. Ideally when you water, fill a sink with water (mixed with orchid food), place the pot inside until it's soaked through, then pull it out and let it drain completely. Just like with peppers, don't get the pots that have the built-in water catchers that prevent water from coming fully out.