• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Pepper starters blooming, am I screwed

I planted my pepper seeds about 10 weeks ago. I still have about 6 weeks or so before they can go outside permanently (Zone 4, S. Central Wisc). I have been taking them out in the afternoons on sunny days when it is supposed to get in the upper 50's or better. Usually for 3-5 hours. That has only been a couple days a week so far. I will probably plant some in a garden late May to early June and transplant the other 6 or so into containers for the summer. I can probably get the container plants out mid May and bring them in on cold nights. My problem is that many of my peppers have gone from budding to full blooming already. Am I screwed? Will they be able to pollinate and produce pods and if so will they be harmed when I transplant them next month? Is this going to be a wasted year for me. It is my first year growing peppers from seeds and I got a bit too anxious after hearing I had to get my Bhut Jolokias started early due to my growing zone. Well, now I think late January was TOOO early. What can/should I do? Will they be alright? Like I said, this is my first year growing peppers from seed. I am just hoping it wont be a disaster. Should I trim the buds for now or just let them go? I dont relish the thought of having to demote myself to picking up starters from the garden center and I know I wont find Bhut's anyway.