gadgets PH meter question

Hi I'm about to buy a PH meter. I have no experience with them.

What does PH resolution 0.1 ph mean?

PH accuracy says plus or minus 0.01 ( does this mean if meter says my sauce is 4.2 that really means it can be 4.1, 4.2, or 4.3 ph)?

Are these good enough specs for making hot sauce?

It's this one. http://www.testequipmentdepot.com/milwaukee/ph-meters/ph56.htm

Thanks

From the information you posted, there are some discrepancies. One decimal point is huge. Is it .1 or .01 ???

If you have a meter that is +/- .01 that is a pretty tight meter.

For sauces, in general, if you are below 4.0 it's a pretty safe area, and if you don't have any things like dairy in your sauce, it's a pretty safe area.

When you start adding high risk things like dairy to sauces (usually in wing-type or bbq-type sauces, not usually in hot sauces) then you have to be more accurate in the pH controls.

You also need to calibrate the pH meter each and every time it is used, so make sure to get the buffering solutions that work with your meter.

I'm not a process authority, but from what I've seen, if the pH of the sauce is below 4.0, it's a pretty safe sauce as long as it's hot packed with the hot fill methods.

id like to think i know alot about ph meters in general.

short answer is to just buy a "general purpose" cheap plastic bodied gell electrode and see how long it lasts you. AND buy a real ph meter, not a pen. pens are annoying, and poorly made.