• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

soil potting soil

What do you guys use for potting soil? I planted all of my peppers in miracle grow potting soil ( before I found this site and heard that it was a no no :oops:) and my habs and banana peppers are turning yellow and losing leaves. I am convinced i'm gonna need to change the soil and I would like to hear everyones thoughts. Thanks for any info.

pro-mix actually does contain micro and macro nutrients but I still haven't figured out exactly how much. Works good for me

many problems with promix and alot of people here think I am a nut but last year many greenhouses lost thousands due to bad bails of promix.
I use sunshine number 2 this year and all is well.
get your ph tested and start there you may have a problem not related to the soil .

I am a newbie to growing my own plants but I got some potting soil from walmart brand is hydroponic or something like that
was $1.97 for a 40 lb bag. Dont get it heavy and compact stuff is junk well that just my thoughts im gonna have to mix the chit out of it to get my $1.97 back :lol:

shayneyasinski said:
many problems with promix and alot of people here think I am a nut but last year many greenhouses lost thousands due to bad bails of promix.
I use sunshine number 2 this year and all is well.
get your ph tested and start there you may have a problem not related to the soil .

Just wondering what sort of problems you had with the bad pro-mix. I know hundreds of people using the stuff and have never heard of any problems but would like to know what to look out for in case I get a bad batch or hear of other with problems.

POTAWIE said:
pro-mix actually does contain micro and macro nutrients but I still haven't figured out exactly how much. Works good for me

Me too...

POTAWIE said: