• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Pruning to promote growth?

Flamecycle

eXtreme
So I have an overwintered cayenne that seems to be doing ok. It has a pretty thick mess of small branches and leaves and is spilling out flowers and pods. Unfortunately it is only like 8 inches tall and the same width. (I'll try to post a picture, I cant find my camera charger though...)

I have been pinching off all the new flowers trying to force it to grow bigger. At its current size, 1/2 of the pods it produces end up resting on the soil... I know I dont want that, I really want to get this thing to put its energy into growing taller.

Should I prune it? I am a novice gardener, so I really dont know what the hell I'm doing. If I cut off some of the lower branches will it grow new ones higher up more quickly? Or would this only slow it down in the long run?

Thanks.

Is it in a pot or in the ground? if in a pot what size? if in the ground is it closed in by other plants or structures?pics would definately help, usually though if the growth is stalled it is because of one of the following conditions:
1. poor nutrition- possibiltity of lack of nitrogen has caused a stall in vegetative growth or lck of phosphorus has stalled root production
2. temperature-low temperature can block the uptake of phosphorus (although being in phoenix im sure this is not ur problem ;) )
3. lack of moisture- even though peppers dont like soggy feet, they still need lots of water to grow big and strong!
4.over crowding- the roots need room to spread out to promote further growth
one of these is probably ur problem if their are no other symptoms, curled or burned leaves, etc.

Thanks for the help chile freak. Ill get pics as soon as I find that charger...

Should I take this to mean pruning is probably a bad idea, and any growth problems are probably due to bad conditions?