• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Puckering and deformity

I'm new to The Hot Pepper but hope to find a little guidance and a whole lot of education. I have a grow chamber that I built years ago to grow tomatoes in an apartment environment. Now living in Ohio I wanted to use it to try hot peppers over the winter. The GC is approximately 2'x2'x3 1/2'. It uses 8 2' fluorescent grow lights and a 65w/6500k fluorescent overhead light. It was originally designed and used as a hydroponic system. I'm using a 16 on/ 8 off lighting schedule. I randomly chose to grow the Caribbean Red Habanero this winter. Because I germinated it directly in an 8 inch pot using MiracleGro's organic potting soil and that my pump fried, I am not using the hydroponic setup this time. It sprouted after seven days and has been fun to watch since. I have a million questions but need to jump to the problem. The third set of primary leaves are puckering much more than the previous sets and the following sets look like someone took a big bite out of them, especially as they get larger. I've checked for insects but can't find any evidence. We don't have a bug problem in the house so I'm pretty sure thats not it. It's now about 5" tall, has the sixth set of primaries emerging, and secondaries coming out at every node. It looks fantastic and if I can figure it out, I'll get a picture of it on the net. Anyways, if this makes sense to anyone please jump in!

pics are great, but fertilizer (too much usually, especially in miracle grow) and bugs are the usual culprits.

I might go so far as to re-pot in benign soil.

S2010093.jpg

By puckering do you mean this?