• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

questions about growing

This is my first year doing true seed start for peppers. My main interest is super hots but who doesn't love growing some jalapenos too?

I usually plant two seeds per pod and sometimes both sprout. I just moved and this property has sand/clay basically for dirt so I've been using big pots or buying dirt to plant. When both grow should I leave it like that and move into the 7 gallon pots? Or kill one? I'd prefer to split apart but idk how to pull that off without damage.

I have more questions but this is all I can think of right now. Thanks for reading :)

If you're concerned about damaging them, which is highly possible when separating seedlings, leave them together and plant them in a 10 gallon pot. 7 might work, too, but bigger would give them the best chance to thrive. Remember, they'll need twice the nutes as they grow.

I kill one usually but sometimes I leave them together(usually they fuse together with age). If it's the only one of that type I'll try to separate them very carefully (doesn't always work).

I'll post pictures tomorrow. I've been using this bio dome that comes with biodegradable sponge pods and the germination is doing pretty well. I'm going to plant some more tomorrow in original soil pods.

I'm dying to get these super hots going!

Also is there any way I can get a couple big pepper plants out of some huge buckets without falling apart or should I just cut it open?

Plastic buckets? Just lay it on its side and roll it around with your knee, squeezing the plastic. Should come right out

If they've got good roots, then it should be fine. If you try to yank them early, then expect them to fall apart a bit... but it still shouldn't hurt them if they're that big and established. Might I ask why?