• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

in-ground Raised Beds vs In Ground and a Soil Question

I've been contemplating this for a while, but can't quite come to a conclusion - how exactly are raised beds different than a traditional garden? Most raised beds don't have a bottom, so wouldn't the roots eventually go in the ground anyways? I'm also seeing that many raised beds aren't too terribly deep, say 8" (two 4x4s stacked). Not sure of measurements, but would seem a 5 gallon pot has more depth for the roots, though obviously not as must horizontal growth... Am I missing something crucial?

For my soil question. I'll be transplanting from solo cups to 5 gallon fabric pots soon. I understand I want potting soil and not garden soil, but do I need the same variety that I am using in my cups now (Miracle Gro Organic)? Or am I fine using something different?

I'm no expert but raised beds and pots serve much the same purpose - better drainage, warmer root temps, less soil compaction, and better control over soil components. Cloth pots have the extra benefit of promoting root growth (less circling). The negatives of pots (and to a much lesser degree beds) is less water retention - and you have to stay on top of them during the really hot days. A lot of which you choose depends on where you live. When I lived in Portland, for instance, my peppers did the best in pots (warmest roots), decent in beds, but crumby in the ground (always wet, cold). This year I'm in Boise, and my house in on former farm land, so I'm going to try some in the ground (longer, warmer growing season). If you have optimum pepper growing conditions (which most of us don't), putting them in the ground would work just fine. 

MG would probably work fine. Most of us like to mix up our own soil (generally cheaper too). I like a blend of soil (peat moss), compost, vermiculite and perlite.

hottoddy said: