• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

chinense red habanero varieties

Okay I recently started a few different varieties of red habanero. Some seeds were saved from pods, some were given or traded with little info, and some were poorly described in original manufacturer packaging. The one I have that is decently labeled just says; Common Red Habanero, Capsicum Baccatum.

I have zero knowledge on the differences between chinense, baccatum, annuum, and so-on. I thought a common Orange Habanero was a Chinense. Is this the only chinense habanero? I have seen some people post that the only "real" habanero was orange. I guess I would say the flavor of an orange slightly differs from a red, but what else is different about them.

Is there a red chinense habenero?

I don't know if there technically is a red habanero but as Willard says all Habaneros are chinenses but not all chinenses are habaneros. But anyway, my point is that the whole Baccatum thing is throwing me off. It should be Chinense.

Okay so I looked at the packaging. It is Seed Savers Exchange. The envelope label says Baccatum. The site does not say anything. It is the 13th down on the right hand side...

http://www.seedsavers.org/Items.aspx?hierId=90

I am planning to grow 9 plants of 4 varieties of red habanero. These SSE seeds, Red Savina, Carribean Red, and Trinidad Congo. Most of the varieties I grow this year will be planted in groups. I am thinking of making an Isolation Coldframe. This would enable me(and someone helping me) to isolate multiple plants of each variety I grow so I can obtain pure seed for next year's grow.

I know, I know.... Baccatum.... Habanero....Chinense.?.?.?.? What?

Anyone else care to chime in????

Okay so I looked at the packaging. It is Seed Savers Exchange. The envelope label says Baccatum. The site does not say anything. It is the 13th down on the right hand side...