• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification.

Repotting Cayenne + Habanero into final pot

Heya!  :party: 

So I am growing Cayenne and Habaneros

This is my first time growing, I've raised them from seed and done many transplants along the way.

- My question is when should I repot them into their final, biggest pots? 

I've read it's bad to repot whilst they are flowering...so should I do it before that occurs? How can I identify the right time?

1. Cayenne. 

C.JPG

2. Habanero. 

H.JPG

3. Tomato plant (which is in the same size pot I will use for the chilli, the final pot). 

T.JPG

Mr. Angie Piggie said:
Heya!  :party: 

- My question is when should I repot them into their final, biggest pots? 

I've read it's bad to repot whilst they are flowering...so should I do it before that occurs? How can I identify the right time?

One of the major reasons to move plant to larger pot is they get root bound when they out grow their current location...

root-bound-plants.jpg

I don't remember reading about flowering being an issue.

And we have a bunch of Aussies that are regulars here. Make sure you hanfg around & say HI! when thet post!

The_NorthEast_ChileMan said:

One of the major reasons to move plant to larger pot is they get root bound when they out grow their current location...
root-bound-plants.jpg

I don't remember reading about flowering being an issue.

And we have a bunch of Aussies that are regulars here. Make sure you hanfg around & say HI! when thet post!

Right so I can easily identify that...this is a very noob question but: how can I check this? I have seen videos of people sliding the plants out to take a look - but when I try the soil just spills out everywhere...

maybe once it's roots are really developed I can slide it out and the soil will stay firm?

Mr. Angie Piggie said: