• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Rockwool germination.

Gday all.

Today im going to attempt to germinate in rockwool for the first time. I have some fatali, naga's and 7 pots.

Im rather curious as to the prep required for rockwool.
Do i soak them right through the first time? Should i still place i fine sheet of manure or something over the seeds? and wouldnt this open them up to mold? I under stand they have good water retainment so really they shouldnt need watering too often, especially in a green house or propagation chamber, correct?

This is my first year starting from seed and my 2nd start for the season. My last attempt was in jiffy pots and despite about 90% germination we had 1 day of around 42 degree celsious weather and within hours the plants dried up and withered. So im hoping for a medium that retains water a little better.

Cheers
Pete

Cheers mate. Actually i was incorrect on my first medium, it was the little coir pots. I was of the opinion the pot themselves was soaking up too much moisture as i was playing a delicate balance between soaking them and spraying water on them. Essentially i had them not moist enough and they dried out in a matter of hours and 6 hours or so bone dry in that heat was the end of the poor blighters.

This time around i will leave a constant small amount of water in the bottom of the tray.
Also thanks for the link, i did read that thread and it didnt answer my 2 main q's. however the pics show no medium on top of the seads so...im not sure basicly.

Cheers mate
Pete

Rockwool is inert, but needs the pH adjusted to be used. First, adjust the pH in a glass of water to 4 with pH down or the juice of an entire lemon. Soak as many cubes as you need overnight in the acidic solution. Shake it a few times until there is only a couple drops coming out and add your seeds.