• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Saving seeds.....

I am new to this so please don't crucify me for asking this question, but how do you save seeds from a ripend pepper for use next year or trading? I want to salvage atlease one to two peppers from each plant. I also heard about dehydrating them, but that is for later use and storage right? Any info would be great.

Drying your seeds on a paper towel for a week or so will suffice,
just ensure they're not at all flexible, and snap when folded... then you can bag them up! :)
Pepper seeds are pretty easy going.

They do however, cross very easily. So if you have more than one variety growing near one another (they needn't be that near) then you may end up with a hybrid.

I clean out the seeds from the pod and put them on a paper plate that I've written the name of the pepper on. Then I put the seeds in an open place like my fireplace mantel, or on top of my refrigerator, for 5-6 days to let them dry. Then I label a 2x3 baggie and put the dried seeds in it, and I then place this baggie inside a larger sandwich bag and put it in the fridge until I need them.

Alan

I clean out the seeds from the pod and put them on a paper plate that I've written the name of the pepper on. Then I put the seeds in an open place like my fireplace mantel, or on top of my refrigerator, for 5-6 days to let them dry. Then I label a 2x3 baggie and put the dried seeds in it, and I then place this baggie inside a larger sandwich bag and put it in the fridge until I need them.

Alan

Why the fridge? And do they need to stay in the fridge until next season? You also said double ziplock bag each of them, would one ziplock bag work or do you use the second ziplock bag as a redundancy thing incase one fails.