• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

sun Sunny hot day's , whats your combating method's

Hello I'm new to gardening and chili pepper growing, its getting in the 106F range in the days its wicked hot in phx arizona. I'm trying new things though I put some of my plants in a container and put them under a shady area, and 2 plants are in the complete sun, and i have to water those constantly and they still wilt. I was wondering if anyone has luck with shade cloth, also i was thinking of puting some kind of reflectant shield for the sun like a white card board box on the soil. Im starting to think i may have not established my plants good enough for deep roots to take in water or its just that the soil and air heats up so much it drains life from the plant. Any idea's good people of thehotpepper? ps: I got a camera if needed :)

you could just cover the plant in mud and it would be fine, or you could buy some shadecloth and drape it over them

I have a shade cloth that isn't directly over my plants but off about 3 foot to the side of my garden and it goes from a house roof to a 7 foot fence. It's about 10 feet wide and has other more shade requiring plants under it.
Just shades the peppers for a good portion of the day at an angle and seems to work, but while it gets plenty hot here it isn't 106 very often.
I wouldn't put anything reflective on the ground, your just amplifying the sun the leaves get by reflecting it right to the underside.
My plants wilt at times in full sun and they don't need to be watered yet, at least in my experience.
Just make sure it comes back to normal at dusk

It is 108 here in Vegas and supposed to be 114 Saturday I put them out in Sun from about 6 to 10 or 11 and then out again at like 4 to 6 so they get a good 6 maybe 7 hours of sun a day it works good