• Please post pictures and as much information as possible.

pod Supposed to be a Reaper

[SIZE=10.5pt]I purchased this plant as a start a few months ago. Its growing quite well and has produced three pods so far, this picture being the largest of the three. They look like bells to me and I've been worried I was skunked by the seller. The wife and I were discussing the pods a few days ago so I picked the smallest of the three, about the size of a small grape. I cut it in half and chewed up the bottom half. No discernable flavor and no heat. I spit it out and handed it to the wife explaining that it wasn't hot and I needed to call the guy I purchased it from. Long story short she tasted it and we found out it was pretty dang warm towards the stem. This is my first time growing super hots so I'm not sure what to expect regarding the development of a plant's first pods. I've read online that a pepper's first pods may not grow true. I've also read that reapers are pretty unpredictable. [/SIZE]

[SIZE=10.5pt] [/SIZE]
[SIZE=10.5pt]Here's a quick picture of the pod in question. I can take a few pictures of the leaves and plant later if it would be helpful. [/SIZE]

[SIZE=10.5pt] [/SIZE]
[SIZE=10.5pt]Thanks in advance for the help. This is an awesome forum that continues to feed my addiction. [/SIZE]

[SIZE=10.5pt]I can't seem to upload a picture. If anyone could tell me how that would be great. Right now I have it saved as my profile picture. [/SIZE]

Hello and welcome Mrpeabody! Pods not growing true is definitely caused by cold if it is true that it is a reaper. Had a wave of reapers growing, then some low temp nights came and they stayed like a grape and tiny

Just wanted to let everyone know that the pod is fully ripened. Picked it this morning and a buddy and I will be tasting it after lunch today. I'll report back with the heat level then. Thanks for all the replies thus far.