• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Temperature Cycles During Germination

Has anybody here experimented with temperature cycles during germination?

Any difference in the following:

1. Holding at a constant 82-87 F throughout germination
2. Cycling between 82-87 F during the day, and allowing a dropoff to ambient at night?

Roger what jmj said, remember outside in the real world...they get no such coddling!Warmer, steadier is more OPTIMAL but not by any means manditory.
Have a good one-
Dave

I'm new to growing peppers from seed but I have been cycling both lite and temp from 5am to 10pm. Have 5 sprouts and 1 possible but still have 23 more to go.

Just put some bone meal in to try to speed things up. Guess patience is a virtue. Anyway that's what I'm trying. Whole lot more smarter people than me to ask. Good luck...Mike

lots and lots of research on germination temps has been done..

here is a chart of germination percent vs temperature from a study done on 5 different annuum varieties by the University of Florida Ag Extension office in Immokalee, Florida...

tempvsgerminationpercentindays.jpg

If the vert is germ %, what is the horiz value, temp in centigrade? If the vert is a function of both...Forgive the ignorance....not making sense of it.

There are studies that found that temperature fluctuation actually improved germination, but I think they only tested wild varieties.

You could be right - I've had better success with constant temps, but that is just anecdotal. I'd be interested in seeing a more scientific approach to this question. I suppose the amount of varience in temps could play a role as well.

You could be right - I've had better success with constant temps, but that is just anecdotal. I'd be interested in seeing a more scientific approach to this question. I suppose the amount of varience in temps could play a role as well.