• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Temperature dropping down to 49 Fahrenheit in Michigan

Hello everyone,

I live in Michigan and its dropping down to 49 tonight. I have 25 plants that are all in their own pot/container on my deck. So far this summer has sucked. I had to bring them in the house 7 days in a row because of temps below 55.

My questions are:

1. Is it necessary to bring them inside anytime below 55?

2. This is a water question.

The future forecast calls for 5 days of thunderstorms in the high 80's and mid 60's at night.

Is it ok for them to get rain 5 days in a row?

I do have mulch around each plant as well. The nursery I bought the plants from told me chile plants don't do good with a lot of water and after their transplanted and growing, that they should only be watered 2 or 3 times for the entire summer as long as mulch is used.

This is my first year being in charge of growing. My father used to do it and I lost him last summer so I'm trying to carry on his passion for it.

Thanks in advance for any feedback regarding either question

They will be fine at those temps and in rain for a few good days. They def will need more than just a couple waterings all summer.

what would the pepper plants do if they were growing wild outside?...use an umbrella...

just ribbin' ya' a little here...sure they will be ok...my plants saw 38 or 39 right after plantout in march but survived like champs...

Thanks for the quick response!

Since I already brought them in tonight I'll leave them in the house. But now I know that I don't have to stress so much in the future about lower than 55. Thanks again I can rest easy now!

Temps are no worries, over watering could be.

You could just put some plastic bags over your pots (around the base).

Mezo.

Mine stay outside even if its 4C, (which is 38F), no problems. But I wouldn't let them get any colder, or wet at all.