• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Tequila Mango Roasted Habanero Hot Sauce

I'm a newb to the site but I've really enjoyed cking out everyone's recipes and photos. I've even started growing my own Habaneros and Jalapenos. I look forward to cking on them every day, carefully watering them, etc. etc. Lately, i've tried a few recipes and I want to give a shout out to Grill Girl because I used her recipe and modified it a bit. Check it out... http://grillgrrrl.co...t-sauce-recipe/

Just so you know the story, I made a batch of this modified hot sauce and my neighbors loved it so I planned on making several big batches to give away as gifts. I found out that a nurse at the hospital was diagnosed with cancer and there were some fund raiser projects going on so I decided to take 3 cases (36 jars) and sell them and contribute the money. Surprisingly, after one nurse bought a jar, shared it, the other 35 jars sold out in an hour and a half. Two days later, a good friend passed away unexpectedly from a heart attack. He was a security guard at the hospital and his family was in need so me and a few other guys decided to sell some hot sauce. In about 6 hours, we sold 10 cases of hot sauce (120 jars). They were the 8 oz. mason jars and we sold them for $5 a piece and they sold like Hot Cakes!

So, I wanted to share the recipe because it's definitely a hit. Here is the modified ingredient list.
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cans of Libby Mangos
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1/2 cup chopped sweet onion
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced
  • 10 habanero peppers, stems removed
  • 1 Cup of your favorite tequila (Blanco)
  • 1 bottle of Realime juice
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 2 Roma tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup of chopped Cilantro
  • 1/2 tblspn sea salt
  • 1/2 tblspn ground pepper