• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

The Surprise Garden - First Season

Ok, I have helped with gardens before, weeding, picking, etc... and have handled herb gardens very well before but this is my first time to try and grow peppers. I call this the Surprise Garden because I am using a bunch of herb seeds that I found laying around the garage along with some seeds that I saved from some really nice looking red habaneros I had, what’s this about drying the seeds, why yes I put them on a table in the garage and let them dry for 90 days (“OH NO, he did what…”). So when I walk out and actual see something growing besides another weed I need to pull it's going to be a real SURPRISE!!! Now, I know, well after reading some threads on here I know that is, that I shouldn’t have just have put the seeds in the ground, (“OH NO, he did what…”) but I figured that if I didn’t get them in the ground now I never would. I also thought that with the climate we have here in Orlando if something does come up I might get lucky and get a pod or 2. Any ways in the ground I have:

Thai Basil
Dill
Oregano
Spearmint
Thyme
Green Bell Peppers
Some Pepper seeds I got with an order to Peppermania
Red Habaneros (whether they’re Caribbean Red or Red Savina, I have no idea)

Question I have is, just incase I actually pull this off, what is the best fertilizer to use? I did read somewhere not to use Miracle Grow but beyond that I haven’t seen anything.

So, thanks for the help and I hope we get a really good laugh later and I can post some great pics of a nice little garden full of pods and we’ll all post question about how the heck I did it.

Cheers,
RM

I think MG Tomato food works rather well personally. I think its their soil that nobody cares for.

Botanicare products are good (but not cheap)

Fish emulsion is good for things
tomato tone

just a few...