food What are the best flavoured chillis for cooking?

Hi all,

I am new to the growing of chilli's, but have alway's cooked with them (im learning to be a chef), however i have really only ever used a few variety's namely Jalapeno's Habanero's & cayenne's.

Would love to get an idea of what you "chilli guru's" use for certain meats, style of dishes, heat, salads etc.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

\m/

I would suggest cooking traditional meals based on the country of origin. For example if you want to cook something with a bhut jolokia look up an Indian recipe or something with yellow scotch bonnet I would suggest jerking it. For example I just googled "spicy Jamaican recipe" and look at that the first webpage that is found is a recipe using yellow scotch bonnets. I just might give that a try lol.

Jerk Chicken Spice Blend
Ingredients

* 1 Tbl. ground allspice
* 1 Tbl. ground thyme
* 1 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
* 1 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
* 1 1/2 tsp. ground sage
* 3/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
* 3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
* 3/4 tsp. minced ginger
* 2 Tbls. fresh garlic (crushed)
* 1 Tbls. brown sugar or molasses
* 1/4 C. Soy sauce
* 1/4 C. dark rum (optional, but encouraged)
* 3/4 C. white vinegar
* 1/2 C. orange juice
* Juice of 1 lime
* 2 Scotch bonnet peppers
* 3 green onions, diced
* 1 C. white onion, diced

Procedure

1) Put all the ingredients in a blender and whiz until smooth.
Jerk Chicken
Ingredients

* Spice Blend
* 2 lbs. of chicken pieces (I always encourage people to use legs and thighs, but breasts will work as well)
* Lime for garnish

Procedure

1. Place chicken in a large freezer bag and pour in spice blend. Place in a bowl to make sure there isn't any leakage and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, but up to a day is preferable.