• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in Startup Help.

pH What's a good ratio of acid to other ingredients when you don't have a PH meter?

Thinking of whipping up a mango fatalii sauce this weekend and was wondering what a good safe ratio of acid (vinegar/lime/lemon etc) to other ingredients would be?

I don't have a PH meter or strips to work with, so hopefully you veterans might be able to chime in, or if you have a recipe I can adjust that would be even easier! ;-)

"Acid ratios- based on several of the approved recipes in the links above, most have an average of 1 cup white vinegar to 10 cups of veggies. However, I’m not a food scientist or process authority. This is just a suggestion based on approved recipes. Different ingredients will effect the finished pH of the sauce."

If in doubt, add a bit more.  Also, I would use rice vinegar, maybe a white wine vinegar or basic white vinegar with the fatalii sauce instead of apple cider vin.

Thanks for the ideas SavinaRed and Salsalady! ;-) Now that I have an idea of the range I can work with, it's time to gather ingredients!

Salsalady, why do you recommend rice vinegar? I've always had a love hate relationship with rice vinegar. It's the norm over here in Japan and works well with the local cuisine, but the aroma is always off putting when I try to use it with other stuff, it's just not a "clean" aroma if you get what I mean.

It was more suggesting a vinegar other than apple cider vinegar, which I think would be overpowering to a mango/fatalii sauce.  If the rice vinegars aren't appealing, maybe try a wine vinegar or champagne vinegar, or...ye old white vinegar.     

Have Fun!  Post pics~  :)

salsalady said:
It was more suggesting a vinegar other than apple cider vinegar, which I think would be overpowering to a mango/fatalii sauce.  If the rice vinegars aren't appealing, maybe try a wine vinegar or champagne vinegar, or...ye old white vinegar.