• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

health What's wrong with my peppers?

This is my first time posting and my first time growing peppers, so I apologize if this is a stupid question. My peppers (12 types) all have leaves that are distorted (but have no discoloration). At first I thought it was thrips, but now I think it might be a calcium deficiency. I had crushed up eggshells on them, but I guess that isn't enough? Any diagnoses and suggestions would be very much appreciated. Here are some photos: http://imgur.com/a/0kFfg

I think I am seeing some in containers and some in the ground.  If so, I am thinking the chances of a deficiency are low.  The odds of both being lacking in the same something seem much less than something more likely to be common to both.  Could it be over fertilization or pests?  I think I am seeing some white dots.  Hard to tell from the photos, but look under the leaves and see if you have tiny little dots, white to yellowish.  Mites will kind of suck the juice out of a plant and cause leaf distortion.  I havent seen them do exactly that, but mighty close on small plants and when there are many mites.

:welcome: to T.H.P. !  first you gotta dump the egg shell thing , that what won't work  takes to long for them to break down . get you some CAL-MAG .  what are yourferts and how often ? 

It looks like either herbicide drift or broad mites. Use a hand lens to look at the undersides of all the affected leaves. If you see tiny yellow mites, they are the culprit. If you don't see any, it's likely the former.

I have to agree, it's either herbicide damage from it drifting or mites. It could be broad mites or russet mites. Get a good magnification. They are like 0.04 mm.
I couldn't see them with my 12x loop.
I bought a 120x pocket scope for 15.00 on amazon.
look at the image by my name. ThTs russets last year at 600x by UC Davis pathology last year.