• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

health What's wrong with this Aji Pacay, and Aji Cacho de Cabra? 5/5 Looking better! Photos...

My wife says they look droopy, and need water.  I'm stumped.  They weren't dried out.  They are also very fast growers which outgrew, in height,  all other plants.  They were in a #1 pot, but are now in a bigger one, as of today.  They weren't terribly root bound, with only slight root curl around the inside of the pot.  Not over ferted, either.

I'm still learning, but looks like they need a drink to me. In my limited experience whenever my plants look like that a good watering fixes them up. I am still only a rookie though so hopefully a more experienced grower can either confirm or deny my input.

Man, I hope that's all it is. I repotted them with 1/2 strength organic fert (1.5-1.5-1.5). These are easily the most vigorous pepper plants I've ever grown. I think Nigel might concur. Great seeds.

How long have they been outside? If you didn't harden them off properly (starting with sheltering then slowly exposing to the elements a bit at a time, over 2+weeks) then they will stress if you expose them to sunlight and/or wind too soon. Also, what are the temperatures they're experiencing? If too cold they will droop like that. Mostly they look stressed to me.

They were put outside today.  They started this drooping, indoors, under HID lighting.  I thought if I potted them up again, and gave them fresh air (in the shade), they might rebound.  They will be indoors at night, and back outside in the morning.  I know how to harden off plants, so that will not be an issue.  Day temps will be in the low 60s-low 70s through Wednesday.