When are pods ripe?

I'm new to growing peppers and I have a pod on my plant that is green but the pod I used to grow it was red. The pod has been there for a while, its the only one on the plant. It looks like it is probably full grown. I don't need the pod for anything but was wondering if green pods can come from a red pod seed and when to tell if they are ripe?. Heres the pic of the pod (scroll down to the 2nd pic): http://www.thehotpepper.com/topic/19576-my-thai-red-pepper-plant/page__view__findpost__p__412877

Yes, Mark's dead-on correct there. But here's something to ask yourself - do you want it to ripen to red? I prefer most of my pods fully ripe, but from time to time I want a green one, for whatever reason. A riper pod is usually sweeter (but not necessarily sweet like fruit), and sometimes I want a more savory flavor from a particular pod. Since you only have one pod, it's not like you have some to taste-test now and others to wait and let ripen, but once the weather warms up and production kicks up, you might want to give this a try to determine your personal preference for different applications.

.........you are green! (some pun was intended), cut back on watering it and the pod will ripen to red quickly.

Yes, Mark's dead-on correct there. But here's something to ask yourself - do you want it to ripen to red? I prefer most of my pods fully ripe, but from time to time I want a green one, for whatever reason. A riper pod is usually sweeter (but not necessarily sweet like fruit), and sometimes I want a more savory flavor from a particular pod. Since you only have one pod, it's not like you have some to taste-test now and others to wait and let ripen, but once the weather warms up and production kicks up, you might want to give this a try to determine your personal preference for different applications.
Thanks for the info. One more question, if I might, will the plant survive through the winter the way it is (I'm in the northern hemisphere)?