• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

When is it too late?

Just curious to know opinions on when it is too late to start a new plant this season.

If I start a few new ones now, or in a couple or weeks, will they still be able to produce decent pods before the season is over?

I'm thinking about starting some more next week as well, So I'd be interested to hear what everyone has to say. The way I see it, a few pods is better than no pods, and if you over winter then you'll get a better start on next year with those plants anyways

Hello GreenTea,

I'm by no means an expert, but I would think it would have a lot to do with where you live..weather/season length wise and just saw you are in Canada, lol so idk, seems like your window would be pretty small? Just my 1cent :)

Yes indeed, up here in Canada.

I asked, because I just got a bunch of new seeds, and waiting until next February is almost painful. :dance:

I would doubt with where you are at, it would be to your benefit to plant now. Unless you want to dig them up and pot them up before the first frost. Bringing them inside and growing them out indoors or overwintering them for next year. Otherwise, I'd wait. Unless they are varieties that mature in 75-90 days.

I started some plants in July last year, but they ended up becoming overwinters/early starts on this season. The later you start, the lower your expectations should be for getting ripe fruits off the plant. If you think you'll have the space indoors to overwinter them, then go for it, otherwise I'd say it's probably getting a bit late for the Canadian growers... even here, I would only think about starting annums at this point.

Just my 2 cents... I'm lazy/cheap, so I'm mainly concerned with getting pods during the growing season, I don't want to bother with any elaborate indoor grows.