• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

When should new plants be moved?

This is my first year of trying to grow from seed, and I see my super chilli seeds have sprouted in a pot. What I have is three plants sprouting that have produced their first two leaves. At the moment the pot is in our laundry and gets filtered sunlight from the sliding door.

When should I move them to allow more light to get onto the plants? I'm worried that if I leave them where they are they'll grow long and spindly.

It may sound like a dumb question, but I've never raised from seed before and would like to develop strong and healthy plants.

IMO...if they have sprouted and have a couple of leaves...pour the sunshine to 'em....just watch for sunscald (leaves will "bronze") but if you give them as much light as possible now that they are young, you will have a great start to a good producing season...like I said...IMO

I am doing just that AJ, all of my seedlings are outsidi enjoying the sun (when it decides to shine through). I have lost 2 seedling, a Pusa Jwala and today i found a Tobasco that was lying on it's side with a broken stem, i replaced it with a Medusa seedling :)

If i may hijack for a bit, when should i start feeding them?
Seedlings001.jpg

I started giving mine nutrients in very low doses when they had 2 sets of true leaves...they liked it...

AlabamaJack said:
I started giving mine nutrients in very low doses when they had 2 sets of true leaves...they liked it...

Thanks AJ..

Good luck with your seedlings lordviykor:)

give them a few hours of direct sun per day, start with only an hour or so making sure they are adequately hydrated first. after a week or two they will be ready for full sun. just choose a day when it's not blazing hot when you plant out.