• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Whoa, holy hell... here come the sons of bitches. With a vengeance.

This is my first time attempting to overwinter plants which haven't yet lost all their leaves. Long story short, I brought a habanero plant in last year after it lost every one of its leaves; unfortunately it didn't make it, because it turned out its roots were rotting (and have been rotting all summer; that explains why it would always fall over). It died around spring, when I was trying to get it to come out of its dormancy. Its stem literally broke off from its roots with practically no effort when trying to find out why it died. But at least it didn't have any aphid problems, since it lost all its leaves from the cold! Either way, this year I brought in two Habanero plants, a Tabasco, Vietnamese multicolor, NuMex Twilight, Medusa, and a Pimenta de Cheiro.

After bringing the plants in, I noticed that they are, in fact, beginning to lose their leaves. Even the slightest movement of the pots will cause a few to drop. I assume this is natural though, due to the lower light levels. But anyway... I have noticed many aphids on the leaves of one of the lower stems of one of my habanero plants. I chopped the whole stem off, sprayed it with "Garden Safe Insecticidal Soap" to kill the motherf***ers, and tossed it in the trash can. In fact, I was going to throw the entire plant out--don't want those things to spread. I've heard all the horror stories. Unfortunately, they seem to be becoming reality...