• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

consistency Hot Sauce Consistency?

Are there any secrets to getting hot sauce to the consistency of say "El Yucateco" hot sauce? I just love the consistency of the host sauce. Its just right. Of course i've tried to blend my sauces very fine in the blender and then leave them unstrained. You just end up with a gloppy mess when you try to poor them out of the host sauce bottle. Maybe strain the host sauce & use some kind of thickner (maybe Xantham gum?) or is it some type of industrial process not available to the home cook?

You didn't cook it long enough for the pulp to cook down into a sauce. Think of tomato sauce. When starting with fresh tomatoes, it's chunky, untill you cook it until smooth. It can be as smooth as silk.

Ahh ok thanks. Ya sorry i'm pretty new to hot sauce making and of course one of my first sauces was a raw sauce. What you said makes a lot of sense. Next time i will try to cook it :). Will roasting the peppers on a grill have a similar effect. 

Oh you didn't cook it at all? Oh well there's the problem lol. :)

Just because you don't serve it hot, most sauces are cooked. BBQ sauce, hot sauce, steak sauce, just like marinara, other sauces, etc.

hay Ncage!  I loved you in Peggy Sue Got Married :)

I don't know how you're making your hot sauce (fermented or no, etc), but here's what I've done to good effect:

1. Make your mash and cook it down. (or ferment it for x amount of time and then cook it down)
2. Put your cooked mash through a food mill.  I use one I got from Target for $25. It's got 3 different plates for different consistencies.
3. For a thinner sauce (ala Cholula) I will use the fine mesh plate in the food mill.  For thicker sauces (ala Sriacha) I will use the #2 or 3 mesh plate.