• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

consistency question about thickeners

I am new to the sauce making aspect, I was wondering...
I don't want to waste any flesh or anything so pureeing through a cheesecloth is a little impractical. Having those chunks in there, I also do not want it to be very sweet.
I am getting into jam and preserves and made an amazing jam today, it is aging now :)

adding sugar gives the texture I want, where it all flows together without much separation. In jams ect it is 1:1 ratio between fruit and sugar. If I wanted this to be nowhere near as sweet could I add say 1:1/4 (fruit:sugar) and just simmer for longer?

What I am trying to do is to get a smooth runny (but thick) consistency much like most sauces on the market (ie skobiyan for example) while keeping the sauce as highly percentaged as the peppers as possible. Pureeing it seems to be too chunky, sugar does what I want if I reduce it correctly, but I don't want the sweetness to be overly noticable.

Can anybody suggest a method for doing this?
The process I have now is

500g chilli
500g raw sugar
(optional) spices, vinegar, lemon juice or citric acid.

1. cut up fruit as required.
2. soften fruit up as much as possible on boil with enough water to prevent burning, adding more as required.
3. once fruit is completely softened, blend or proceed to step 4.
4. putting pot on simmer, add sugar and stir until completely dissolved.
5. put lid on, simmer for 45 minutes.
6. test if sugar has set using a cold/frozen plate (to decrease temperature so sugar can set) if sugar is not set, continue to simmer.

I suppose I could always add a carrot (diced) into it in early stages and use that to thicken it. Am I on the right trail of thought? I don't want to ruin the peppers I have...