• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Starting seeds

I just ordered about 100 seeds of different varieties and I'm going to attempt to germinate them. I do not have any grow lights or a heating mat.

I'd appreciate any help on the best way to get the highest germination rate.

Are heating pads and lights necessary?

Thanks for any advice! :)

Well, here's my anecdotal account: this is my first year growing peppers, and I had two plantings, one in early February, and one in mid-March. I decided to use the heat mat (actually, an old bottom-heated reptile tank) for the March peppers to help them move along, keeping the tank around 80-85 degrees. My heat mat seeds sprouted in 4-6 days, whereas some of the seeds from February are just now starting to sprout. To their credit, most of the seeds I started in February sprouted within two weeks at an ambient temperature of about 70. So, heat mats are only necessary if you're on a timetable, or if you're growing some of the more finicky varieties.

As for lighting, just from my experience seed-starting in general, only the sunniest of windows can produce anything close to the results of a grow light. A simple shop light setup works wonders, and they can be relatively cheap. If, however, you are blessed with a large, south-facing window, you should be okay.

Another important consideration with windows is if they are poorly insulated or drafty, it could potentially stunt your peppers' growth.

You don't need any light to germinate the seeds, but when they sprout you will. You can find a lot of info on the THP "Growing Hot Peppers" and "Grow Tech" links.

I have never done it without the lights and grow mats…just afraid I guess!!

Good luck!!