• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

pests Organic treatment as a prevention against thrips, aphids, mites?

Hi there,

This is my first year growing Chilli plants in tropical weather. In the four months that I have my chilli plants, I have faced minor infestations of aphids, thrips, and mites. I treated them with pyrethrin base insecticide, as well as neem spray. It seems to work but the pest keep coming back within a few weeks. I have to be very vigilant, quick detection and response is the only way to prevent the infection from getting out of control. I am trying to avoid the use of any systemic insecticide after reading about it.

I believe prevention is better than cure thus I am hoping to find some sort of organic treatment that is harmless to the plants and that I can spray on a weekly basis as a deterrent and prevention against aphids, thrips and mites.

Any recommendation would be great. Thanks in advance

Mark T

Hi there,

This is my first year growing Chilli plants in tropical weather. In the four months that I have my chilli plants, I have faces minor infestations of aphids, thrips, and mites. I treat them with pyrethrin base insecticide, as well as neem sprays. It seem to work but the pest keep coming back after a few weeks. I have to be very vigilant and quick detection and response is the only way to prevent the infection from getting out of control. I am trying to avoid the use of any systemic insecticide after reading about it.

I believe prevention is better than cure thus I am hoping to find some sort of organic treatment that harmless to the plants and that I can spray on a weekly basis as a deterrent and prevention against aphids, thrips and mites.

Any recommendation would be great. Thanks in advance

Mark T