• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Hello, I want to grow for the first time! Some tips please?

Hello I am new to growing plants and also to growing chili. I have never owned plants before but I would like to start :D

I just ordered [Trinidad Scorpion (Butch T Strain) Hot Pepper 10+ seeds]
[http://www.amazon.co...duct/B003ONW3GO]

Can you guys link me to a guide on how to start? (or even type your personal knowledge?)

I'm want to grow just 1 plant pot of the chili for now hopefully and depending on how it goes and how much I like it, I will expand. But currently I just want to grow for myself for fun.

I live in Houston TX so the weather is not too hot. I live in an apartment and can put it inside right by a window or outside on my balcony

^______________^ I can't wait :D !!

I don't want too indept like certain termeratues and certain humidites and stuff, I'm not going to sell this professionally so mid quality would be fine.

Things like this much water, this type of soil, this type of pot, and maybe this light to buy for night
ty

just a quick one

Germination - there are mixed views on this but i like to soak my seeds over night in water then sow.

1. Heat
Like all seeds, chilli seeds are reasonably easy to germinate. Initially their main requirement is heat. Obviously it is best if possible to keep the seeds indoors, if not in a house or garage then at minimum in a greenhouse. Even when they are in a centrally heated house there are things you can do to maximise the heat. Try putting the seed tray in warm spots such as on top of the fridge or in an airing cupboard. Alternatively you could buy a heat pad from a garden centre and place the tray on top. This will ensure a constant warmth is supplied to the chilli.
2. Moisture