• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

overwintering Growing - Sprouting at beginning of winter

Hi,
I'm new to growing chilies. I have a number of different chili plants that have given me lots of fruit that I planted at beginning of last summer.

I had been given a Trinidad Scorpion in a packet http://www.flickr.co...ite/7097808509/. There were some seeds in the packet.

I am in Sydney, Australia. It is coming to the end of Autumn here, and it's getting pretty cold now...
The average temperature can range from around 8C (46F) at night to 16C (61F) in the daytime in mid-winter.

Being the impatient person I am, I decided to plant these a few weeks ago. Also, having little expectation that these will sprout I didn't consider the cold climate coming up.

Anyway.... they decided to sprout a couple of days ago. I have these sprouts outside in individual little pots under a plastic dome about one foot in diameter and about one foot high. Like a little green house.

Now that these have sprouted, I am concerned that they will die during the cold conditions.

What is the best way for me to take care of these sprouts during Winter?

Thanks very much.
Ronny

I grew some over the winter and found it to be somewhat aggravating. Don't know if I'll do it again although I see the reluctance to plow- under perfectly good plants.

Put 'em out for the day, and bring 'em in at night. They should survive in your climate there, no worries. ;)

Dunno if you get it there or not, but your main concern is frost. As long as they are not out in it, they will be sweet. (I'm lucky here in Brissy... I don't even know what frost is! :lol:)