misc Some realistic questions need answering...

Im new to hot sauce...not the making..but bottling. I want to sell. After doing the math for a 12oz sauce, total costs to make, bottle, and ship are roughly between $8-10 bucks outta pocket ($6 just shipping alone). Then you have to buy a barcode to sell the damn thing in retail stores. (found a cheap barcode site if anyone's interested)

1. To make any money and sell online, I'd have to sell for $13-15 bucks to make any money. In your experience, do people spend $13-15 for hot sauce? Seems steep when Tapatio is $2 bucks. It seems to me that sauces that have the ghost pepper sell the best. Any thoughts?

2. If i were to move forward bottling and selling, can I legally do it out of my own kitchen? If I can't, I just assume not tell anyone except you guys whom i've know for years....

3. Do I need FDA approval, or do i fly under the radar and jump ship if/when I get caught?

To be able to sell sauce at less cost, you would have to produce in large quantities. Which is hard to do at first. I would suggest checking your local/state laws when it comes to producing in your own home. Several states will send out an inspector, and can license your home kitchen for sauce production. I would not recommend trying to fly under the radar. Especially if you are selling the sauce. If it is in fact a hobby sauce, and you are just going to trade with friends, then it would be ok, but as others on the forum will let you know, you need to do it right. You can find several threads on this forum talking about this issue. Most of them are pretty heated. ;) [no pun intended]

I can see both sides, but if you are starting out, and want to actually turn it into a business, I would suggest dotting your i's and crossing your t's all they way through.

Hi jakkSauce,

this is just my 2cents and hopefully others will chime in with their perspective-

you'll never get rich selling hot sauce on the internet. Shipping is a killer for single bottles.