• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Golden433 - First Time Grow

Hi Everyone -

I'm just getting started with growing hot peppers, and have a MegaGarden each in two rooms.

For each room, I have:

- MegaGarden, with a water pump set to run 15 minutes every 6 hours (4 times per day)
- A General Hydroponics Fluorowing 125W CFL, which is on 12 hours per day
- Feeding using General Hydroponics FloraNova.

The seedlings are a mixture of Tasmanian Habanero, Serrano and Ghost.

The A room seem to be growing pretty well, but the I have yellowing leaves, leaves that curl inward, and the bottom leaves are falling off:

A room - pH 6.5, Nutes 367 PPM

A-233.jpg

A-230.jpg

A-228.jpg

A-227.jpg

A-226.jpg

B room - pH 6, Nutes 327 PPM

[To follow]

[background=rgb(255, 244, 228)]B room - pH 6, Nutes 327 PPM[/background]
B-009.jpg

B010.jpg

B013.jpg

Does anyone know what might be wrong?

You might be watering them too much.

I sow my seeds in coco coir in small trays and then as soon as they sprout they go into a flood and drain system that floods every morning for 4 minutes only. This is all the time it takes for the coco to be saturated. I have a fan blowing on them for 15 minutes every hour or so and they aren't completely dry by the next day.

After reading lots of hydro instructions online I thought they needed more frequent watering and I set the tray to flood twice every day, but they started culring and leaves dropped. Changed it back and its all good.
hydroworld005.jpg

A lot of hydro info you find online is optimised for marijuana which needs different conditions to chilli peppers. Coco is a little different to rockwool and expanded clay but I'd cut back on the watering until they stop dropping leaves. If you underwater too much they'll wilt before the next watering, so water them just before that would happen.