• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

chinense My first ripe Carolina Reaper (ever)

I know others have had earlier harvests, but since this was my first carolina reaper ever (I'm new to growing peppers anyway), I thought I'd share the photo.
Please note, none of the other pods on the plant share this picture perfection (in my view).  Most of the others seem a little "boxy" and lack the well defined tail this one does.

By the way, it was *hot*, with an instant burn that actually resolved a lot faster than I would have thought.  Growing conditions probably played a big role in it, but I think my ghost peppers this year are a bit hotter than my CR was, but that's subjective - and not meant to stir controversy, I'm just making an observation.

The seeds I used came directly from puckerbutt pepper company.

CR_1_8-9-2013.JPG

Bruce said:
I know others have had earlier harvests, but since this was my first carolina reaper ever (I'm new to growing peppers anyway), I thought I'd share the photo.
Please note, none of the other pods on the plant share this picture perfection (in my view).  Most of the others seem a little "boxy" and lack the well defined tail this one does.

By the way, it was *hot*, with an instant burn that actually resolved a lot faster than I would have thought.  Growing conditions probably played a big role in it, but I think my ghost peppers this year are a bit hotter than my CR was, but that's subjective - and not meant to stir controversy, I'm just making an observation.

The seeds I used came directly from puckerbutt pepper company.

That is a very nice Reaper that you have Bruce. This is also my first  year growing superhot peppers.
Where are you located in Kentucky? I live in northern KY in Covington.