Pepper origins

How do super hots come about; is the trinidad scorpion found growing naturally in trinidad or has it been selectively grown? Likewise is the naga a result of selective growing or just naturally occurring in Naga land?

Seeing how all chilli peppers originated from the Americas could the naga and trinidad share a common superhot parent.

Interesting questions, I don't think any of the superhots are found in the wild. I'm pretty sure all were developed by humans. So the scorpion may originate from Trinidad but was probably selectively breed for the heat. I am not a authority on this subject by any means so don't write what I say in stone.

Its an interesting subject... im no expert, but it seems like I have read that, yes, they all originated in south america  (where they variegated into all of the different species based on their microclimate...)  They branched out as they moved up the cointinent.  In the age of exploration, the spice trade from the americas to europe and europe to asia and vise versa also involved the propogation of the different sub species of chilis that were brought over to europe.  As these different types of peppers began to spread all over the world through the influence of european trade... the gene pools were subjected to new climates.... which drove the evolution fo those species into further subspecies as natural selection met genetic drift in this new climate...(and of course humans helped in the process through breeding for specific traits.)  So that all peppers share a common ancestor in south america.  This was the prevailing theory at the time i read about all that... 

Straightforward and while not altogether up to date, it is a decent review. Hot peppers have been grown as a crop by humans for more than 7000 years. That`s quite a bit of time to select characteristics!

http://www.hort.purdue.edu/newcrop/proceedings1993/v2-132.html