• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

fermenting Help with fermented sauce

This is my first attempt at making a fermented hot sauce so I am not sure what is ok and what is gonna kill me.

I have two jars going the first is 5 weeks and the other is 4 weeks.  Here is what I did: chop up my cayenne peppers, weigh and added 8% by weight canning salt, put it in a sterilized canning jar and put the lid on.  Left it over night and it did not pull out enough liquid so I put in measured by weight some distilled water and salt, at 8%, to cover the peppers.  Both jars got about 1/4-1/2 tsp of whey from some yogurt.

I read that the peppers should be submerged so I cut the bottom off a plastic butter container to push down the peppers below the liquid. I also added a plastic shot glass to keep that pushed down. Both were cleaned and put in boiling water in the microwave for 30 or so seconds. 

The oldest one the first photo, the liquid is clear and there only seems to be a thin layer of white on the top.  I have not opened it to take a look.  

The other jar, the second photo, has cloudy liquid and what looks to be some dark mold? growing on one side of the jar.  I opened this jar after about a week as I read you could scoop off the white layer and be ok.  Then I read that you shouldn't open the jar, so I haven't opened it since.  It more closely resembles what would be on top of fermenting tomato seeds.

My question is, based on what I am seeing what is ok and what should be thrown out? I am hoping at least the first one is ok and can still be used. Thanks for any assistance, I appreciate it.

2013_10_16_370_96efd169eb0cf388095e.jpg

Larger Photo at:
http://www.use.com/showoriginal.pl?set=96efd169eb0cf388095e&p=1

2013_10_16_370_96efd169eb0cf388095e_2.jpg

Larger Photo at:
http://www.use.com/showoriginal.pl?set=96efd169eb0cf388095e&p=2

Hot & Spicy, welcome to the forum!