• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Central Florida Grow

I am brand new at growing pepper. I am from Central Florida and am wondering when I can grow some hotts? I plan on growing in 5 gallon buckets. Any tips or tricks to growing here in Florida would be great. Thank You.

Jay, I'm just outside of Tampa and had plants full of peppers in Jan, Feb, and March!!  I don't see why you can't also as long as you watch the weather. Mine were in the ground, with yours going to be in buckets where you can move them you should be alright......

Thank you very much Pat for the input. Hopefully I have success. I am most likely going to bring them inside at night. Do your plants produce fruits all year round?

This is gonna be the first year I try to grow year round. I pulled up the plants earlier this year when I just had too many peppers to use/give away. Gonna grow just a few varieties of super hots this year and play with those..Good luck!!!

I am some what new myself.If you going to grow them in 5 gallon buckets,make sure you put some good size hole in the buckets.Another thing is be careful not to over water them.

Houston where in the space coast are you located? I am in viera
pepperguy1 said:
I am some what new myself.If you going to grow them in 5 gallon buckets,make sure you put some good size hole in the buckets.Another thing is be careful not to over water them.
I planned on making some holes. Any suggestion on size and number of holes? Also what about soil? I was thinking about just grabbing some miracle gro moisture control I'm only doing four 5 gallon buckets to start off. And also what about fertilizers? Not sure what to use there also? Thank you very much pepper guy for the tips I greatly appreciate it.

James where are you at in central florida? I'm on the space coast. Rockledge to be precise.

I've got some buckets growing if youre not too far away you can come check it out.