• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Trying to decide what to grow

Other than growing regular bell peppers, jalapenoes and red chili peppers, I'm new to the hot pepper scene but really excited about expanding my gardening hobby. I've started making my list for my 2015 grow and think I know what I want, at least I know the end game. I've got plans to use the peppers to make red pepper flakes (like you get at a pizza place), hot sauce, cayenne pepper powder, paprika and chili powder. I'll also use them for cooking and salsa. Right now, I need a little help selecting a seed for the hot sauce and red pepper flakes. I'm not looking for anything super hot. I'm still new to this and trying to find my way. But, anyone on here feel like making some recommendations for the hot sauce and flakes? I'm sure you can use just about anything, but not looking for the super hot....yet.

I live in Virginia and plan to start my seeds in Jan.

Goatsweed are great for flakes, sauces, powder, etc. They are at the upper end of annuum heat but nowhere near superhot heat. One of my favs I grow every year, and on my lifetime list.

I recommend peach or yellow/orange hot varieties for great tasting sauces and powders, whether you go straight to peach bhut or pick fataliis and bahamian goats you can't go wrong trying non red peppers :)

BM let me know if there is any varities in particle you were looking to add to your list and I will see if I can help you out.

So many to choose from. A few other prolific varieties that come to mind are yellow scotch bonnets, bonda ma jacques, orange thai, lemon aji, beni highland. Perhaps fatalii and Trinidad scorpion moruga yellow (they aren't super hots but getting warmer than others listed).

yeah something yellow like aji pineapple or scotch bonnet moa (a sweeter taste)

and something chocolate like chocolate hab, choc congo (a richer taste)