• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Casper's 2016 Peppers

A New Adventure
What’s up guys? I joined and introduced myself to this great community yesterday. You can visit that post right here. First of all, let me thank you for your warm welcome!  Since an online community is all about sharing knowledge an having fun I thought I would share my current situation right away. Any kind of feedback, tips and tricks are appreciated. As I said before, This is my first year growing peppers seriously and I still have lots te learn.

Growlist 
Habanero Chichen Itza 
Lemon Drop
Chinese Five Color
Hot Paper Lantern

Cayenne (Overwintered) 

Early Jalapeno (Currently germinating) 
Bulgarian Carrot (Currently germinating) 
Hungarian Hot Wax (Currently germinating)

03 Feb 2016
These pictures were taken around two weeks ago. 
AZfMmNr.jpg

Habanero Chichen Itza 

2B6YHQU.jpg

Lemon Drop Pepper

Before I go any further I would like to talk about my current setup. I made a simple grow box, like you see in those DIY YouTube videos. But I believe I kind of upgraded mine. I used a 100L (26 gal) storage box and covered the insides with reflective tape. I then put 4 light sockets in the lid, which are now used for four 23w CFL bulbs. I used small pc fans for ventilation. I used an 80mm pc fan for in-flow at one side and a 120mm pc fan for the out-flow in the lid. 

Total lumens: 5600
Color temperature: 6500K 
Lumens per bulb: 1400
Lights: 15-16 hours per day. 
Day temp: 24-26 (depending on in-flow) 
Humidity: 30-40% (depending on the last time I watered the peppers)

y2ZtHCz.jpg

*temperature in this picture is a little lower because I opened the lid for a while to take some pictures.*

14 Feb 2016
I started noticing some fungus nats in my grow box, so I added a thin layer of sand which took care of the problem in two days. 
eNFhJZ5.jpg

Overview

NfUO9bl.jpg

Habanero Chichen Itza 

7RWXd52.jpg