• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

First Canned Hot Sauce

Hey everyone I've just made a hot sauce and canned it using the water bath method. I've never done this before and wanted to see if my methods sound ok. Also I'd love to hear some feedback of my recipe.

300g jalapeños
80g habaneros
200g green mild peppers
200g diced and peeled pears
1 brown onion
8 cloves of garlic
1tsp salt
Juice from 1 lemon
300ml of white vinegar.

I used a food processor to dice everything up then threw it all straight in a pot to start cooking. I then used a stick blender to really blend the sauce once it had been cooking for ~20 mins and then cooked it for another 20 mins.

From there I canned it and boiled the jars with sauce for 15 mins and now they're cooling.

I made sure to use about 25% vinegar by weight as this is supposed to be enough to reduce pH below 4?

Just wondering if this looks like a decent recipe and if it's alright to store out of the fridge. If not I'll put them in.

Hopefully that all makes sense (especially the metric units). :) Cheers.

Edit: I removed all the seeds too if that makes any difference.

I ended up having enough just with the jalapenos and habaneros but they're all the ingredients minus the pears.

Does anyone know what the long green chillies are called in the top right? They're available everywhere in Australian supermarkets and come in green and red varieties.  I didn't use any for this sauce but just interested.

I'll get myself a pH meter so I can test it properly. Cheers for the help. :)

It tastes alright. I'm not really sure what i'd change to make it better but the flavours just don't seem quite right. In saying that, it's still getting used daily.

I was also wondering if cooking up the onions and garlic in a little oil before adding the rest of the ingredients to the saucepan is a good/bad idea?