• If you can't find a "Hot" category that fits, post it here!

The original purebreds. The wolves.

Another newbie question? I'm thinking about the ancestry of superhots. Ok so let's compare peppers to dogs. And I'm no dog expert either so forgive this silliness. But ok "the Spotted Poodle: a cross between the Dalmatian and the Poodle, may dethrone the current world's funkiest dog the Carolina Retriever."

So I get that you can then stabilize the new breed and then cross it with yet another newly created breed, but where did it all begin?

In other words, before man began breeding dogs (in my imagination) there were grey wolves, brown wolves, and white wolves which were naturally occurring breeds that could reproduce except they lived on different continents. Then man came along and helped them make sweet sweet intercontinental love...

If I'm making no sense that's okaleedokalee [emoji106]

Anyhoo, before man existed there were hot peppers (I'm assuming). So...and I'm thinking narrowly about the very hot peppers here.

What were the wolves of the very hot pepper world before man started mixing and matching?

Was the habañero naturally occurring or did our ancestors create it as they created corn? Hmm?

Anyone know the natural history of the hot pepper? I bet there's a good book about this somewhere? If you know lay it on me. I'd dig reading it.

So what can you tell me? What were the wolves of the hot pepper world from the various continents prior to man?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk