• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 sinensis

sinensis

Heating Up

• Extreme
  • 146 posts

Posted 31 October 2018 - 12:45 PM

i've got a chili cookoff coming up with some friends. we're competing against each other, and there will be some judges.

i've never done one of these before. i'm thinking to bring two pots. one of them on the mild side, and another one at whatever heat level i think tastes best. apparently this is permitted lol

do you guys have tips for me or a favorite recipe?

i'm looking at these as a starting point. kenji usually doesn't steer me wrong:

https://www.seriouse...ili-recipe.html

https://www.seriouse...-con-carne.html

i'll probably be using beans.

also, is there an online shop (or member-vendor here) that has a good assortment of quality, whole, dried chilis? or maybe powders? and not like crazy large bulk quantity preferably?

i have a lot of peppers in the freezer, but they're all superhots, and none of them are dried. i think dried peppers are essential to get the flavor right here.

thanks

Edited by sinensis, 31 October 2018 - 12:46 PM.

#1A Guest

• Pip
  • 1 post

#2 hogleg

hogleg

On Fire!

• Extreme
  • 11,067 posts

Posted 31 October 2018 - 12:55 PM

Here's some championship winning recipes

https://www.casichili.net/recipes.html

Click on "fun" then click on "recipes" scroll down to chili recipes.

#3 dragonsfire

dragonsfire

On Fire!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,129 posts

Posted 31 October 2018 - 01:01 PM

Depends if you want Authentic or popular Morphed versions.

#4 The Hot Pepper

The Hot Pepper

On Fire!

• Administrators
  • 46,540 posts
  • aka:Pookie
  • (x3)

Posted 31 October 2018 - 01:15 PM